Because These Things Will Change

Junior year ends Wednesday.

I’m sad, because I’ve made a lot of memories and had a lot of fun this year. I’m terrified, because I have no idea what’s in store for this summer or next year or what happens after next year.

Looking back on junior year, I’ve grown a lot as a person. This year, as I’ve been surrounded by my best friends and involved in a lot of great organizations, I can confidently say I’ve found my place at UNC.

I guess it started last summer, when I really broke out of my comfort zone and moved to Australia for 8 weeks last summer. I was so scared and excited but being there put a lot of things into perspective… like I probably can do this adult thing if I really put my mind to it.

Then, I transitioned back into UNC and was completely comfortable. I knew who my friends were and who I’d eat with in the dining hall. I knew my way around the MJ school, where all of my classes were. I knew what I’d do in my free time with Heelraisers and Carolina For The Kids. After two years of being a small fish in a big pond, floundering around wondering what I was doing at UNC, I was finally starting to feel more confident in what I did.

This feeling of comfort and confidence helped me really break out of my shell this year, and discover things I never thought I would at UNC.

I’ve become more spontaneous and open to trying new things. I’m a sports fan (read: Carolina Basketball fan). I like country music (read: Chase Rice). I started this blog where I ramble about being a fangirl and share my attempts at hand lettering.

So thanks, junior year, for an amazing support system of friends and organizations that have encouraged me to grow as a person and try things I never would have on my own. I couldn’t have imagined this is where I’d be one year ago. I definitely don’t have everything figured out, but I’ve found where I’m supposed to be right now. Bring it on, summer, I’m ready to see what you have in store.

IMG_1020

2 thoughts on “Because These Things Will Change

  1. Awww! This is so great, Emily! I’m so glad I was able to be there for a lot of these amazing memories! I guess this means a sign out from Gina… Thanks for your amazing blogs! Always a highlight of my day 🙂 YGG

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is the greatest! May have teared up a little (read: actually teared up). Loved all the memories made and laughs shared. Senior year here we come (read: can we actually be seniors?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

