New Pens, Same Letters

One night last week, I stayed up way too long watching and being mesmerized by hand lettering videos on Instagram. The next day, I put a (small) dent in my bank account and purchased some fancy new pens. Today, I’ll give you a quick summary of what I think so far of these new tools.

Please note that I am surely no professional with these pens. I have a severely shaky hand and I haven’t been able to spend as much time with them as I’d like to, but here’s a quick review of the Tombow Fudenosuke Hard Tip, Tombow Fudenosuke Soft Tip, and Pentel Sign Pen.

pens.jpg

Tombow Fudenosuke Hard Tip Brush Pen:
This might be my favorite out of the three. At first, I was a little skeptical because it was hard to tell a strong difference between the thick and thin lines, but with practice, it gets much easier to control. I also like this pen because I tend to press down way too hard with any writing utensil, and the firmness of the brush tip doesn’t give way to that as easily.

Tombow Fudenosuke Soft Tip Brush Pen:
The soft brush is really similar to the Pentel Sign, but I find it a little easier to control. I like the ease of making both thin and thick lines. Personally, this one can be problematic for me with my shaky hand, but I think with practice it can only get better!

Pentel Sign Pen
I would say this pen is a good middle ground between the hard and soft brush tips. The actual brush part seems a bit larger than the Tombow pens as well, but I do like the black ink color. It’s hard to tell in the photos above, but the black ink from the Pentel is a richer black, in my opinion.

I can’t wait to get more practice with these pens over the next few weeks, I think they will make beautiful letters! Who knows, maybe they’ll even make an appearance in a #fangirlfriday post!

Which of these is your favorite? Have a pen I should know about? Comment below or tweet me!

7 thoughts on “New Pens, Same Letters

  1. My favorite pens are the ones that have an eraser attached to them! Maybe contact Bic and see if they would send you a package to try them all out; they come in a variety of beautiful colors (Blue, Black, and Red). Let me know what you think! #pensonpensonpens

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

